DepEd CDO Division

History of DepEd Cagayan de Oro City

The Division of Cagayan de Oro City is used to be part of the Division of Misamis Oriental. In August 1953, Cagayan de Oro City was created as a separate Division. A year after, the Division was returned to the Division of Misamis Oriental, there being no Schools Division Superintendent. On May 1, 1963, it stood again as a separate Division with Mr. Esteban C. Sarmiento as the first City Schools Division Superintendent. The following had served as Superintendents: Crisogono Z. Abejo, Raymund V. Aldana, Cesario A. Balintag, Teodoro P. Dano, Atty. Domingo L. Martinez, Ph.D., CESO V, Eden G. Afdal, Thelma R. Rocha, Sol F. Matugas, Ed.D., Manuela G. Magtajas, Ph.D. (OIC), Antonio L. Intong, Lourdes C. Pabayo (OIC), Rosemary P. Gellor, Ph.D., CEO V, Sinforosa A. Guiñares, Ph.D., CESO V, Ellenita T. Martinez, Ed.D., CESO V, Isabelita M. Borres, Ph.D., CESO V, Lourdes G. Tolod, Ph.D., CESO V, Fely T. Yu (OIC), Myrna S. Motoomull, Ed.D., CEO V, Elena M. Borcillo, CESO V, and presently Jonathan S. Dela Peña, Ph.D., CESO V.